Eyes of War

August 2, 2008 at 5:55 pm 4 comments

Okay.. well this picture I took this morning. I was driving with my nephew to the doctor so he could get his shots, and then I saw a whole small beach part covered with red crosses. I’m a pretty curious person, so we parked and got out of the car and headed towards the ocean of red. It was a WHOLE private little beach dedicated to the war thats happening. The United states brown figure you see in the picture was actually a chalk board, and the killed and wounded numbers were constantly being erased to show how many were being hurt. It was pretty sad. People brought flowers, teddy bears, and these “prayer papers.” The thing that was woah to me is that there is 4,032 crosses on that beach, and still more to come according to the man. He orders these crosses whenever he gets updated on the numbers being killed and wounded, and if they change, he sticks in another cross in the ground. It was really interesting talking to him, you could tell the war was something he was extremely sensitive about, and knew basically everything about it. He talked to me for about half an hour just about how he feels towards the war. What I found nice was that he didn’t blame anybody, he didn’t completely criticize Iraq, and he didn’t call out Bush on a million things, and other things that possibly caused the war. He is going to be probably one person I won’t forget, he was just so nice, and opinionated and smart. I mean, he buys 4,000+ crosses, and puts them all over his own beach, and makes it a little attraction for people to see, and realize whats happening. There isn’t even a charge, I heard some man ask him “what this to you, you aren’t even getting anything out of it.” And all the man said was that he didn’t need anything out of it, he just wants to open peoples eyes.

Entry filed under: Life as I Know it.. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

I’ll Miss You. Man/Woman

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. lamicus  |  August 3, 2008 at 7:55 am

    I’ve seen this before. Once on Santa Monica Pier and twice on the UCLA campus en route to classes from Janss steps. Great way of getting a message across. I wonder if you’d noticed that some of the crosses were shaped after the Star of David and the Islamic moon? I was curious why some of the crosses were white and others red, maybe to differentiate between the wounded and those KIA I suppose.

    Reply
  • 2. BornFool  |  August 3, 2008 at 10:40 am

    Which beach is this? This man really cares about the war.

    Reply
  • 3. bornfool  |  August 5, 2008 at 12:04 pm

    If I would have that long private beach, may be I wouldn’t have done the same.

    Reply
  • 4. caroldee  |  August 5, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    HI. That is just amazing.. That should be brought to the medias attention. Something like that could be done on any beach.. but I imagine the cost would get high as the time rolls on. WAR is disgusting and we should bring home our troops as soon as possible. Too many lives lost and families destroyed. : )

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Most Recent Posts


